Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 17 Aug 2018 22:16:08 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Wed, Aug 31, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-31-2016.html <p>73F, 92%. &nbsp;14 @ 7:02 AP. &nbsp;Last 4 @ 6:08 AP - kind of a&nbsp;progressive LT effort (6:24, 6:15, 6:03, 5:49).</p> Wed, 31 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 30, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-30-2016.html <p>10 @ 7:34. &nbsp;Fast recovery from the race...makes me happy!</p> Tue, 30 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 29, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-29-2016.html <p>6 @ 8:43</p> Mon, 29 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 27, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-27-2016.html <p>Last night time 30k trail series race! &nbsp;Best finish, tough course, and I wound up 1st overall in the series of 4. &nbsp;I think maybe only a dozen or so people actually ran all 4, but whatever!</p> Sat, 27 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 26, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-26-2016.html <p>6 @ 8:20</p> Fri, 26 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 25, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2016.html <p>6 @ 8:53</p> Thu, 25 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 24, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-24-2016.html <p>12 @ 7:23. &nbsp;Included 1 @ 5:44.</p> Wed, 24 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 23, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2016.html <p>8 miles in 1 hour on gym treadmill&nbsp;</p> Tue, 23 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 22, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-22-2016.html <p>no watch, Garmin is done. &nbsp;RIP</p> Mon, 22 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 21, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-21-2016.html <p>Did the last 25 miles of Habanero 100 with Julie (who won again!).</p> Sun, 21 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 20, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-20-2016.html <p>8.5 @&nbsp;~8 min pace. &nbsp;Pumped to do some pacing tomorrow. &nbsp;Last year the 100 miler had a 97% DNF rate (I&#39;m running with the one person that actually finished). &nbsp;This year it should be a little cooler with the rain so maybe they&#39;ll get some more finishers.</p> Sat, 20 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 18, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-18-2016.html Thu, 18 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 17, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-17-2016.html <p>75F, 98%. &nbsp;17 @ 7:13 AP. &nbsp;10+ on the warmup, then 2 x 5k at the track, 800m recovery in between. &nbsp;Reps were 20:12, 20:13. &nbsp;My light broke on my Garmin so these were paced blindly. &nbsp;In hindsight I took it pretty easy on myself, but we&#39;ll call it 30k race-specific effort, in prep for my last 30k series race (even though a 30k on those trails takes 3 hours, not 2).</p> <p>This weekend it looks like I&#39;ll do some pacing work at the Habanero 100...a hundred mile trail race that starts at high noon in mid August in SE Texas. &nbsp;I don&#39;t get it either.</p> Wed, 17 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 15, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-15-2016.html <p>5 @ 7:57 AP</p> Mon, 15 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Sun, Aug 14, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-14-2016.html <p>12 solo trail miles in Bandera before volunteering for some trail work. &nbsp;I ended up wheeling (measuring) 9 miles of the Bandera 50k/100k course with another guy. &nbsp;That was a decent effort unto itself!</p> Sun, 14 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 11, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-11-2016.html <p>4 @ 8:14 AP. &nbsp;Set out to do 10 and pulled the plug. &nbsp;Really long work week, probably ~14&nbsp;hours/day at work but only 3-4 hours/night of sleep. &nbsp;bad combo...2 non-running days next.</p> Thu, 11 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 10, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-10-2016.html <p>8 @ 7:56 AP</p> Wed, 10 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 09, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-09-2016.html <p>8 @ 8:05 AP</p> Tue, 09 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 08, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-08-2016.html <p>5 @ 8:30 AP</p> Mon, 08 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 06, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-06-2016.html <p>97F -&gt; 88F. &nbsp;Whew, these things are getting harder...both the courses and the temperatures. &nbsp;Pretty well-paced again, moved up 3 spots in the second half of the race. &nbsp;This was the most technical so far - feet feel bruised up a little thanks to all the jagged rocks. &nbsp;My shoes have a rock plate but not a very substantial one I guess! &nbsp;ow</p> Sat, 06 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 05, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-05-2016.html <p>82F, 85%. &nbsp;4 @ 8:27 AP. &nbsp;Houston today, headed to Colorado Bend state park for a race tomorrow night.</p> Fri, 05 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 04, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-04-2016.html <p>90F. &nbsp;6 @ 8:28 AP. &nbsp;Vitamin D run at lunch.</p> Thu, 04 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 03, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-03-2016.html <p>75F, 90%.&nbsp; 8 @ 7:48 AP.&nbsp; Included 7 x 30-sec strides in the last couple miles.</p> Wed, 03 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 02, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-02-2016.html <p>75F, 90%.&nbsp; 7 @ 8:47 AP.</p> Tue, 02 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 01, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-01-2016.html <p>75F,&nbsp;DP =&nbsp;71. &nbsp;14 @ 7:21 AP. &nbsp;10 moderate, 2 mile burst (6:21, 5:57), 2 c/d. &nbsp;A little prevent-going-stale run.</p> Mon, 01 Aug 2016 06:00:00 Sun, Jul 31, 2016 http://SlowJoe.fastrunningblog.com/blog-07-31-2016.html <p>6 @ 8:16 AP. &nbsp;Still trying to recover...almost there I think&nbsp;</p> Sun, 31 Jul 2016 06:00:00